Ebook cover resizer
One cover, sized right for Kindle, Apple Books, Kobo, Barnes & Noble and Google Play.
Your cover
Your image stays on this device. Nothing is uploaded.
Store
- Output size
- 1,600 x 2,560 px
- File size
- Not measured yet
- Scale
- 0.95x
- Your cover is 1.5:1 (height to width); the Amazon KDP ideal is 1.6:1. Crop trims 113 px of width. Drag the box to choose what to keep.
- Exactly the Amazon KDP ideal size, made by scaling down, never up.
ZIP: one file per store, sized when ready.
Rather have a pro handle this? Our studio can: book cover design.
Short answer
KDP's ideal ebook cover is 1,600 x 2,560 px, a 1.6:1 height to width ratio, saved as JPG or TIFF under 50 MB. Add your cover, pick a store, and the tool crops, pads or stretches it to that shape, warns before upscaling, and exports JPG, PNG or a ZIP of every store size.
How to use it
- Add your ebook cover: drop a JPG, PNG or WebP on the tool or choose the file. It stays on your device.
- Pick a store. KDP comes first; each row shows the output size and whether your cover is big enough.
- If the shape does not match, choose crop and drag the box, fit with padding, or (rarely) stretch.
- Choose JPG or PNG and the JPG quality. The file size shows before you download.
- Download the cover for that store, or all presets as one ZIP.
How it works
Each store preset comes from that store's help page. When a store states an ideal size, the tool makes exactly that size. When it states only a minimum, the tool keeps your cover's own resolution and checks it against the minimum. It scales down freely but never up, unless you allow it.
Ratio = height / width
Crop: keep the largest area at the store's ratio, where you place it
Pad: widen or heighten the canvas to the store's ratio, then fill the gap
Scale = store width / kept width (above 1 means upscaling)
Worked example: a 6 x 9 in cover at 1,800 x 2,700 px has a ratio of 1.5:1. KDP's ideal is 1.6:1, so the crop keeps the full 2,700 px height and 2,700 / 1.6 = 1,688 px of width, trimming 113 px from the sides. Then 1,600 / 1,688 = 0.948, a small step down, gives exactly 1,600 x 2,560 px.
Padding color starts as the average of the edges being extended, so the bars blend in. JPG and PNG files are encoded by your browser at the quality you set, with 72 PPI written into the file. The ZIP is built on your device too.
Reference
Ebook cover requirements by store
What each store's help page states. "Not stated" means the page gives no rule for it.
| Store | Size | Shape | Files | File size |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Amazon KDP | Ideal 1,600 x 2,560 px, min 625 x 1,000 px, max 10,000 px a side | At least 1.6:1 | JPG, TIFF | Under 50 MB |
| Apple Books | At least 1,400 px on the shorter side | Not stated | JPG, PNG | Not stated |
| Kobo Writing Life | Not stated | 3:4 (width to height) | JPG, PNG | Under 5 MB |
| Barnes & Noble Press | At least 1,400 px on each side | Not stated | JPG, PNG | Not stated |
| Google Play Books | At least 640 px on each side, max 7,200 px a side | Not stated | JPG, PNG, TIFF, PDF | Under 2 GB |
Kobo also asks for portrait covers. Barnes & Noble Press states its 1,400 px in its ePub formatting guide. Google Play Books states a minimum of 640 px.
Questions authors ask
What size should a Kindle ebook cover be?
KDP's ideal is 1,600 x 2,560 px: 2,560 px tall and 1,600 px wide, a 1.6:1 ratio. The minimum is 625 x 1,000 px and no side may pass 10,000 px. Save it as JPG or TIFF in RGB, under 50 MB.
Can I use one cover file for every store?
Almost. A 1,600 x 2,560 px KDP cover already meets what Apple Books, Barnes & Noble Press, Google Play Books state. Kobo asks for a 3:4 shape, a little wider, so crop or pad a copy for Kobo. Download all presets to get one file per store in a ZIP.
Should I crop, pad or stretch?
Crop when the art has room at the edges: drag the box to keep the title and faces. Fit with padding when nothing can be cut: bars in a color sampled from the cover edge fill the gap. Avoid stretch. It squashes type and faces, and readers notice.
Will upscaling make a small cover sharper?
No. Upscaling adds pixels but no detail, so the cover looks soft on sharp screens. Apple asks you not to enlarge a smaller image to meet its 1,400 px minimum. The tool never upscales unless you turn it on, and it tells you by how much.
Why does KDP not take my PNG?
KDP's ebook cover page lists JPG and TIFF only. Apple Books, Kobo and Barnes & Noble Press take JPG or PNG. Choose JPG for KDP. If you pick PNG and download the ZIP, the KDP file comes out as JPG anyway.
What DPI should an ebook cover be?
Pixels are what count on a screen. KDP lists 72 dpi, and this tool writes 72 PPI into every file it makes. Changing the DPI setting alone changes nothing a reader sees; the pixel width and height do.
My file is over the size limit. What do I do?
Kobo takes up to 5 MB and KDP up to 50 MB. The tool shows the file size before you download and warns when a file is over. Lower the JPG quality from the default 92 a few points at a time and watch the size update, or switch from PNG to JPG.
Is my cover uploaded anywhere?
No. Your image is read, resized and saved in your browser. Nothing leaves your device, and share links carry only your settings, never the image.
Before and after this step
- Previous stepKDP cover calculator
- Next step3D book mockup generator
Read the guide
Related tools
Sources
Last verified against each store's official help pages. Stores change their requirements, so check the source before you upload.
Ebook cover requirements
- KDP Help: What criteria does my eBook's cover image need to meet? kdp.amazon.com
- Apple Books Asset Guide: Book Cover Art help.apple.com
- Kobo Writing Life Help: Cover Image Tips kobowritinglife.zendesk.com
- B&N Press: ePub Formatting Guide for eBooks help-press.barnesandnoble.com
- Google Play Books Partner Center Help: Book file guidelines support.google.com